Lemon Blueberry Fig Muffins

Sadly, as I write this post I am experiencing some significant stomach pain.

Tragically, I believe it is because I consumed a perfectly innocent – looking sandwich yesterday for lunch.

This is tragic because it is only the most recent (and most painful) evidence that gluten and I might not get along so well – and foodie that I am it pains me deep in my soul to omit an entire group of grains from my diet.

Of course, I’m still holding out hope that perhaps the chicken was bad! More conclusive tests to come. In the meantime, I refuse to stop eating baked goods, and one of my favorite things to do on a Saturday morning is to let my creativity loose on a batch of muffins. Grain free or no, this weekend was no exception.

Part of me wanted lemon poppyseed and another part wanted blueberry, so I decided to combine them! Why not throw in some figs for good measure? Of course, the most difficult part of this recipe was figuring out the base – I wanted a combination of almond meal and coconut flour textures. I was inspired by this recipe, and I must say I’m very happy with how it turned out. The texture does improve drastically the longer they cool, but they are still delicious – if a little overly moist – eaten fresh out of the oven.


Lemon Blueberry Fig Muffins
Makes 16 muffins

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups almond flour
1/2 cup coconut flour
6 eggs
2/3 cup milk
1 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
1/4 cup honey
2 tbsp turbinado sugar
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
1/2 cup dried figs

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 350ºF and line a muffin tin with paper liners.

If using frozen blueberries, thaw and soak dried figs in the blueberry liquid.

Mix the two flours, baking soda and salt together, then add the wet ingredients and mix well. Allow the batter to rest for a few minutes.

Drain the blueberry-fig mixture before adding it to the muffin batter.

Fill muffin tins about 3/4 of the way full.

Bake for 24 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin comes out clean.

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

