Peach Basil Sangria

I love making sangria, but I only ever make it for parties – especially summer parties. I don’t have a logical reason for this, but it has become enough of a trend that whenever I’m having people over in the summer I have the urge to make a sangria. This summer I have been completely obsessed with basil, and I considered doing a pineapple basil sangria…but the beautiful ripe peaches on my counter were calling to me. How could I ignore summer fruit that is begging to be made into something delicious?! Peach basil sangria it was.

DSC_0939_straight_light

This sangria is delicious and not too sweet, which I love. If you want to make it a bit sweeter try using a sweeter white wine, adding a little simple syrup, or topping up with a sweet sparkling water or sprite instead of the seltzer water. I always leave the carbonated component out of my sangria and lay out several options for guests so that they can choose the sweetness level themselves.

DSC_0928_cropped

Be careful that the basil flavor doesn’t become too strong. I usually prepare the sangria in the morning and taste little sips throughout the day to see what I need to add, and for this sangria I took out about half of the basil an hour before I served it because I thought the basil taste was strong enough. Also be careful about making the sangria too sweet too soon! I would add simple syrup or any other sweetener when it’s nearly ready to serve, once the peaches have already released their flavor.

I served this peach basil sangria on the 4th of July, lounging with family by the pool. It was lovely, light, refreshing, and perfectly summery. May you enjoy this sangria on a beautiful, relaxing (and not too hot) summer day!

DSC_0946_cropped

Peach Basil Sangria

4 ripe peaches
2 lemons
2 limes
1 orange
2 stalks fresh basil
1 cup peach schnapps
1 1/4 cup brandy
1.5 liters Savignon Blanc (or white wine of choice)
Seltzer water to top up

*note: this is a large (party-sized) recipe using 2 bottles of wine; half the recipe if you want a more normal volume!

Combine all ingredients except seltzer water in a large pitcher and let sit for at least 6 hours before serving (longer is fine). Add seltzer water immediately before serving, or serve alongside. If there is any left over, remove the fruit and basil before storing in the refrigerator.

Leave a Reply

