French Macarons with Dark Chocolate Espresso Ganache

In case you hadn’t noticed, classic french macaroons have been blowing up the food blogosphere for the past year.

I have been completely entranced.

Over this past year, I have not had as much time – or equipment – for culinary experimentation as I had previously been accustomed to. Because of this, I have instead been sneaking moments here and there to peek at what other food bloggers have been doing. Instead of making my own creations, I’ve been stockpiling recipes, filing them away for a much-anticipated but maddeningly obtuse break from the craziness of my broke-college-student life.

The list is getting unmanageable, my friends.

I’m not quite sure exactly when I created the “macarons” subsection in the “cookies” subsection of the “cookies, brownies, and sweets” section of my recipes folder, but I hope this gives you an idea of how out-of-control I and my recipe list have become.

But I digress. I finally got around to making a batch of macarons last week, and I wanted to make it really simple to minimize the opportunities in which I could make potentially devastating mistakes. I used this basic recipe and wonderful macaron making guide from Food Nouveau for the macarons and this espresso ganache from Sugar and Snapshots for the filling.

I must say, the whole process wasn’t nearly as difficult as I thought it would be, and I really enjoyed it! It was therapeutic and relaxing, and the macarons turned out SO well. My whole family loved them, and I think we finished the entire batch within the day. My dad decided that “ganache” was his new favorite word, and used it at every opportunity for the next three days (which was longer than the cookies lasted). It kinda cracked me up.

For those of you who, like me, have wanted to make some of these delicious little beauties but have been a little too intimidated to try, DON’T BE! Try it! You won’t regret it, I promise. I’m thinking about not obeying all the rules next time (aging the egg whites, etc), since I found this macaron mythbusters post! I’ll let you know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

